Kirrawee High School logo

Kirrawee High School

Kirrawee High School

Telephone02 9521 2099

Minimum Standard Tests

To achieve the HSC, all students in NSW must demonstrate that they meet the ‘HSC minimum standard’ for literacy and numeracy.

This occurs through the sitting of three, 45 minute online tests of reading, writing, and numeracy.

Students must obtain a level 3 or 4 based on levels 1-4 of the Australian Core Skills Framework (ACSF) a nationally agreed standard of functional literacy and numeracy. This means students can do things such as calculate the quantity of paint required to paint a room, estimate distance. travel time and costs for a transport route, write a job application letter, take notes from a lecture or training session, measure quantities to follow a recipe, and enter data in a computer-based management system.


These tests will initially be implemented during Year 10, Term 3. Students who do not achieve a level 3 or 4 are required to resist the tests.

KHS will organise multiple opportunities for resitting during Year 11. If students have still not met the standard by the completion of Year 11, they will be supported by the HSC support teacher who will then implement the test. Students may still attempt the test up to 5 years after the conclusion of Year 12.

Click here to visit the NESA (NSW Educational Standards Authority) website for more information and to view sample test questions